First Impression of the “Nintendo NX”

 


 

Three days ago,¬†I saw the reveal trailer of the Nintendo Switch (a.k.a. the “NX”).

I was stunned by¬†the console’s innovative design. It definitely beats the Playstation console and the PSP hands-down because of how gamers can effortlessly switch between playing a game on the television to playing that same game on a handheld device.

Although the console is pretty cool, some of its questionable characteristics make me lean more towards not buying it.

 


 

1.) Incompatible with other Nintendo consoles

I’m disappointed to know that gamers have to insert¬†a new cartridge into the¬†Switch, since I don’t want my Wii and WiiU games to collect dust. Moreover, Super Smash Bros. 4¬†– the game¬†my brother, friends, and I prefer to play with together – will never be compatible with the Switch. If Nintendo was able to make the 2004 DS and 2006 DS Lite capable of playing Game Boy Advance cartridges and DS game cards, then they should’ve been able to do the same thing for the Switch , Wii and WiiU.

super-smash-bros-wallpaper

 


 

2.) Battery Life

This feature was never¬†described in Switch’s debut¬†trailer, but I have a feeling that the console’s battery life will be pretty short. The WiiU GamePad’s battery lasts betweent three to five hours, and it has a 6.2 inch (13.7 cm), 480p, single-touch display. The Switch’s display will be the same size, but instead be multi-touch and have a 720p resolution. So, the Switch’s batter may either last as long as or shorter than the WiiU GamePad’s battery.

r5plsf9yqfzikawjkhti

 


 

3.) Detachable controllers

Although the main selling points of the Switch are the detachable controllers and the console’s adabtability from a television screen to a touchscreen and vice-versa, those controllers look like they’re easy to lose. If a gamer didn’t attach one or both of the controllers to the touchscreen and ended up losing the controller(s), will¬†the Switch still be playable? Nintendo accessories are pretty expensive with the original Wii controller¬†selling for around $13 USD and the WiiU Pro Controller being approximately $50 USD. With those prices in mind, it’s easy to imagine how much money you’d have to cough up for each Switch controller you lose.

lets-say-youve-gotta-catch-a-train-or-a-cab-or-maybe-you-just-want-to-have-something-else-on-the-tv-while-you-play-you-detach-the-sides-of-the-controller-like-so

 


 

4.) Small, narrow controllers

I prefer playing with large wide controllers because not only does it feel more comfortable in my hands, but it includes better vibration and sound features that enhance the gaming experience. I assume that the Switch controllers will have similar vibration and sound features as the original Wii remote, which I think are no match to the same features found in the PS4 and Xbox One controllers.

first_look_at_nintendo_switch_-_youtube_-_google_chrome_2016-10-20_10-13-34-1

 


 

5.) The rectangular shape

From my experience playing with the WiiU GamePad, the handheld Switch’s shape doesn’t look comfortable to hold. When¬†I first played with the GamePad, it felt extremely bulky. Then, after a few weeks of trying to get used to holding it, I gave up. The GamePad currently sits in front of my¬†brother’s television collecting dust, ergo I’m pretty sure the same thing will happen to the handheld Switch¬†if I get one.

229e82c59fc965f2d00f48bea7b13aa8

 


 

6.) Switch Pro Controller

Because of #3, #4 and #5, if I were to purchase the Switch, I would really want to play with the Switch Pro Controller. Unfortunately, because of how expensive the controller will most likley be, I’d rather not spend¬†the extra money. With that said, the cost of making the¬†Switch Pro Controller should’ve gone to improving the¬†handheld Switch so that it’s curvier; has slightly bigger controllers; and has a 1080p resolution display.

screen_shot_2016-10-20_at_10-09-48_am-0

 


 

7.) Large size

Instead of playing with the handheld Switch, why not just play with the small, foldable Nintendo SP and DS? The handheld Switch looks too big to fit in my small purses, and I definitely don’t want to carry a backpack around everytime I feel like bringing the device out of my house.

 

Leave a Reply

