On the “Suicide Squad” Harley Quinn

No lie, I couldn’t keep my eyes off of her. She’s an eccentric¬†doll that I’d love to¬†yet¬†am¬†scared to play with. I knew she wasn’t the same Harley Quinn I fell in love with in Batman: The Animated Series, and felt a bit uncomfortable about that. Yet, a couple of days after I saw the movie, I’m still wondering if I like this new jester.

For¬†her first film appearance, she’s¬†bad… in a good way. Unlike¬†a lot of her animation and comic stories I’ve seen, she manages to kick-ass, have some fun, and think smart without¬†Mr. J.

margot-robbie-harley-quinn.jpg
Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn in Suicide Squad

On the other hand, she’s bad… in a bad way. She’s so girly that¬†her kick-ass, fun, and smart character isn’t fully captured in the movie.

Perhaps if Margot Robbie¬†didn’t just walk around in those short booty shorts and had more¬†playful words and fighting, then I’d like the¬†Suicide Squad¬†Harley Quinn more.

I don’t mind¬†Harley Quinn’s¬†sexy character designs so long as she’s good at being crazy. For instance, in the game Batman: Arkham Asylum, she wears a¬†sexy nurse-like uniform.¬†At first, I was taken aback by that outfit, wondering if she was just¬†a sex appeal. But boy was I wrong; she added some terror and excitement¬†with her hand-to-hand combat and slyness.

Click here to watch Harley Quinn’s story in the Batman: Arkham games

But in¬†Suicide Squad, I¬†do¬†mind her booty shorts… and bra. From what I recall seeing the movie once, there weren’t enough scenes of her being silly or¬†quirky. Instead, she’s either making sexy poses or acting normal. Of course, there’s a fine line as to how weird¬†Margot Robbie can try to be. But maybe if she and David Ayer pushed a little past that boundary, then Harley Quinn could’ve been¬†viewed on the same level as (if not even better than) the Joker.

harley_quinn_suicide_squad_by_axzlrose-d9yxl3e.png

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Harley Quinn from Batman: The Animated Series,¬†she’s not “the Joker, but with¬†the sex appeal” like the movie portrayed her to be. If you want to investigate the character further, I hope you see how purely insane¬†and loving this former psychiatrist is.

Click here to see Harley Quinn’s origin story and her first appearance in the DCU

Click here to see some Harley Quinn scenes from Batman: The Animated Series

Click here to see Harley Quinn’s wiki bio

harleyquinn
Harley Quinn’s appearances¬†from¬†Batman: The Animated Series
Leave a Reply

